Quality Assurance

The Quality Assurance Framework was developed by the UMS administration team in an effort to continuously monitor and improve our core programs. The Framework for Teacher Professional Practice identifies those aspects of a teacher’s responsibilities that have been documented through empirical studies and theoretical research as promoting improved student learning. In the framework, the complex activity of teaching is divided into seven Professional Performance Review Standards for teacher evaluation that are clustered into the following four domains of teaching responsibility:

  • Domain 1: Planning and Preparation
  • Domain 2: Classroom Environment
  • Domain 3: Instruction
  • Domain 4: Professional Responsibilities


The standards included in this professional practice constitute a comprehensive framework reflecting the many different aspects of teaching and learning. Although the standards are distinct, they are, of course, related to one another. A teacher’s planning and preparation affect instruction, and all these are affected by the reflection on practice that accompanies a unit or lesson. In addition, many features of teaching, such as the appropriate use of technology, do not constitute a single standard, but apply to all of them.